Welcoming the Council’s New Chair

November 26th, 2020

Anton Barnett-Harris

Chief Executive Officer

Australian Physiotherapy Council

On behalf of the Australian Physiotherapy Council, I am pleased to announce the appointment of our new incoming Chair, Melissa Locke for the next 2 years.

Our Board has elected Melissa Locke to serve as Chair of the Council for the next 2 years . Melissa has made a significant contribution to the Council as a Director over a number of years and is well recognised both within Australia and internationally as a leader in the profession. We know that she will help lead the Council well through the next period of growth, as we serve our customers, stakeholders, and the esteemed Australian physiotherapy profession.

In welcoming Melissa as our new Chair, we want to take this opportunity to acknowledge and thank our outgoing Chair, Associate Professor Shane Patman, for his service as the Council’s Chair over the last 3 years.

During his time as Chair, Shane has provided foundational, unswerving, and focussed leadership and governance oversight of the Council’s organisational activities. He has presided during a season of significant change for the Council, particularly as we relocated premises, transformed our assessment methodology to simulated Clinical Assessment and gained further reassignment from the Physiotherapy Board of Australia. We are grateful for his significant contribution and thank Shane for remaining with the Council as a valued Director on the Council’s Board.

Despite the challenges experienced through 2020, our Board of Directors, Management and staff of the Council remain committed and focused on serving our stakeholders and customers, and achieving our purpose, our vision and mission. Visit our website to read more about the Council’s purpose.

Please join us in congratulating Melissa Locke as our new Chair of the Australian Physiotherapy Council.

From Anton Barnett-Harris, CEO

Recent News

Share via
Copy link