The Australian Physiotherapy Council Limited (ACN 108 663 896) is a not-for-profit public company limited by guarantee.

Under the National Registration and Accreditation Scheme (NRAS), the Australian Physiotherapy Council Limited (the Council) is the appointed accrediting authority for physiotherapy in Australia pursuant to the Health Practitioner Regulation National Law 2009. The Council is appointed under an agreement with the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (AHPRA) and reports regularly to the Physiotherapy Board of Australia.



The Constitution provides the framework for the operation of the Council, outlining the system of governance, the powers of the Board of Directors, and the rights and obligations of its members. The Constitution is a public document and may be accessed here.


Member Organisations

The Council has two current member organisations: the Council of Physiotherapy Deans Australia and New Zealand (CPDANZ), and the Australian Physiotherapy Association (APA). The Council works in collaboration with both these organisations for the ongoing improvement of the profession and community.

More information regarding the member organisations can be found on their websites:


Strategic Plan

The Council’s Strategic Plan outlines the strategic goals and objectives of the Council between now and the year 2021 in a manner that acknowledges our major stakeholders and the environment in which the profession operates. The plan acknowledges the objectives and principles of the National Registration and Accreditation Scheme, which underpins the core functions of the Council, and include operating in a transparent, accountable, efficient, effective and fair manner to:

  • Help keep the public safe by ensuring that only health practitioners who are suitably trained and qualified to practice in a competent and ethical manner are registered;
  • Facilitate workforce mobility for health practitioners;
  • Facilitate the provision of high quality education and training for practitioners;
  • Facilitate rigorous and responsive assessment of overseas qualified practitioners;
  • Facilitate access to services provided by health practitioners in accordance with the public interest and
  • Enable the continuous development of a flexible, responsive and sustainable Australian health workforce.

The full document may be accessed here.


Board of Directors & Board Charter

The governing committee of the Council is its Board of Directors which is established in accordance with, and governed by the provisions of, Council’s Constitution. The Board Charter defines the purpose, duties and responsibilities of the Board of Directors. Such definitions as exist in the Board Charter are to be followed in the conduct of the operations and business of the Council. The full document may be accessed here.


undefined Members of the Board

undefinedShane Patman

PhD, MSc, GradCertUniTeaching, BappSc(Physio), FACP, GAICD

Chair, Director (Perth)

Shane Patman is an Associate Professor within the School of Physiotherapy, University of Notre Dame Australia, coordinating the cardiorespiratory stream of the physiotherapy program. He is the current President of the International Confederation of Cardiorespiratory Physical Therapists and Vice-President of the Australian Physiotherapy Association. His contributions to the physiotherapy profession through his clinical, regulatory and academic experience have been acknowledged via the Australian Physiotherapy Association WA Branch President’s Award (2013). He served on the Australian Physiotherapy Council’s Accreditation Standing Committee for nine years (Vice-Chair 2013 -15), and assisted in drafting the Council’s Constitution (2014).


Claudia Bels BEc/LLB (Hons), Grad Cert BA (Exec), GAICD

Independent Director, Deputy Chair and Member Audit & Risk Committee (Sydney)

Claudia Bels is a director with extensive legal, corporate governance, risk management, compliance and financial expertise. She has over 20 years experience across the government, member services and international banking and finance sectors. Claudia previously held the role of General Counsel & Board Secretary for Export Finance and Insurance Corporation and General Counsel (and Chief Risk Officer) for the Law Society of New South Wales. She is currently an Independent Director of Australian Settlements Limited and member of a number of Audit and Risk Committees.


Pat Maher BSc (Hons), BPhty, MPhty (Rural & Remote Health), Grad. Dip PSEM, GAICD

Director and Chair Audit & Risk Committee (Adelaide)

Pat Maher has served on a variety of health related bodies including the NT Physiotherapy Registration Board, NT Ministerial Health Advisory Council and the NT Health and Community Services Complaints Commission Review Committee. He was the National President of the Australian Physiotherapy Association (APA) (2009-2010) and served on the APA Board from 2006 to 2011. He has been a member of the Australian Physiotherapy Council since 2010. Pat is currently a Principal Policy Officer, SA Department of Communities and Social Inclusion.


Lucinda Chipchase PhD, M App Sc, APAM, GAICD

Director (Sydney)

Professor Chipchase is the Foundation Chair of Physiotherapy at the School of Science and Health, University of Western Sydney. Lucy has extensive experience in leading and designing entry level physiotherapy programs. Her research has evaluated teaching and learning innovations in entry-level and post professional physiotherapy education particularly the use of digital tools. She has published in the area of graduate preparedness, curriculum, interprofessional education and clinical education. She has held a prestigious UQ Teaching Fellowship and a U21 Teaching and Learning Fellowship. She is a member of the Australian Physiotherapy Association.


Marcia Griffin BA, Dip Ed, BCom, GAICD

Director (Melbourne)

Marcia Griffin was the CEO of Pola Cosmetics, a business that she grew from a start-up to a multimillion dollar business, earning her the recognition of Telstra Business Woman of the Year in 1995. She sold her share of the business in 1997 and wrote a business biography, High Heeled Success. Since that time she has been a Non-Executive Director on numerous Boards, including PMP Ltd, Tourism Victoria, and The World Master Games. Her current roles are as a Chair with the CEO Institute, a Director at National Seniors and Care Connect, as well as being on the Advisory Board of Tailors Mark.


undefinedKathy Grudzinskas MBA, BPhty, GAICD

Director (Brisbane)

Kathy Grudzinskas has been continuously employed as a physiotherapist in hospital and community settings in South Australia and Queensland since 1981. She is currently the Executive Director of Clinical Support Services Princess Alexandra Hospital. Kathy has a strong interest in governance, and has served as a practitioner member of the Physiotherapy Board of Queensland, Physiotherapy Board of Australia, and the Australian Physiotherapy Association. She has also previously worked with the Australian Physiotherapy Council as a member of the Accreditation Standing Committee. Recently, Kathy chaired the Steering committee for the review and development of the Physiotherapy practice thresholds in Australia and Aotearoa New Zealand, which were published in May, 2015.



© Copyright Australian Physiotherapy Council Limited 2017