Aside content

The Council has awarded Professor Gillian Webb and Kathy Grudzinskas the Australian Physiotherapy Council Service Award for 2023.

This annual award recognises individuals who have significantly impacted the Council and the broader Australian physiotherapy profession. It specifically honours those who have demonstrated exceptional dedication to the Council’s vision and values, exhibiting transformative leadership qualities.

Our Award Recipients:

Professor Gillian Webb OAM has been deeply involved with the Council, serving on its accreditation committee, panels, and as a lead assessor for the Equivalence of Qualification Pathway.
Beyond the Council, Gillian’s influence extends through her work with World Physiotherapy and the Australian Physiotherapy Association. She collaborates with governments and professional organisations to advance rehabilitation and health promotion. Internationally, she has been instrumental in establishing physiotherapy in several Asian countries. In 2015, her outstanding contributions to the profession, community health and education were recognised with an Order of Australia in 2015.

Kathy Grudzinskas has been integral to the Council, serving on the Board of Directors and Chairing the Assessment Committee for 9 years, as well as serving on the Audit and Risk Committee. She also played a key role in the significant shift in the clinical assessment model from hospital-based to simulation. Beyond the Council, her extensive leadership roles within the Australian physiotherapy profession includes serving on the Physiotherapy Board of Australia, the Australian Physiotherapy Association Board and as a practitioner member of the Physiotherapy Board of Queensland. With 24 years as Director of Physiotherapy at Princess Alexandra Hospital, Kathy exemplifies dedication to providing high-quality healthcare to Australians.

Back to top