Standard Assessment Pathway

What is the Standard Assessment Pathway?

The Standard Assessment pathway assesses the skills and knowledge of overseas qualified physios as a route to General Registration with the Physiotherapy Board of Australia (the Board), which is part of AHPRA. Registration is necessary to practice as a physio in Australia.


To apply for this pathway, you need to be:

  1. An overseas qualified physiotherapist; AND
  2. Meet the qualification requirement (or already hold) registration without any restriction; OR
    Be able to legally practice without restriction in your country of training.

There are no experience or English language requirements for the Standard Assessment pathway. However, you may be required to produce evidence of these when it comes to applying for registration. For more information please visit the Board’s website.

Insurance Coverage?

You are automatically entitled to free insurance and membership with the Australian Physiotherapy Association (APA). Please click here for more information.

As it is an “opt in” system, you will receive an email with a link to apply at the relevant stage of your application.  Once your application is accepted by the APA, you will be automatically covered by the insurance and become APA members.


The Pathway

Eligibility Assessment

More info

Desktop Assessment of Qualification

Cost – $1100
Processing time – 2 weeks

Award of Interim Certificate

Read More

Written Assessment

More info

Multiple Choice Examination

Cost – $1900

Held in March, June, September, and December every year

Read More

Clinical Assessment

More info

Three Practical Assessments

Cost – $4125

13-14 month wait for allocation

Read More


What Happens When I Successfully Complete All Three Stages?

You will be issued with a Final Certificate which will meet the qualification requirement for General Registration with the Board. There are a number of other requirements for General Registration.  Please check these with the Board directly.



If you are an overseas qualified physio and practising physiotherapy in Australia is something you would like to explore, please contact our Assessment Team.  We would love to hear from you and help you on your next adventure.

Contact Our Assessment Team

1300 528 003 (Within Australia)

+ 61 3 7018 1499 (Outside Australia)

Useful Links